Print Page | Close Window

"Take Three" Etiquette

Printed From: Slug-Lines.com
Category: General Slugging Questions and Comments
Forum Name: General Slugging Topics
Forum Description: This is the area for all general slugging comments. To add a comment simply create a new topic or see FAQ for detailed information on how to post comments.
URL: http://www.slug-lines.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1012
Printed Date: 17 May 2024 at 1:34am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.10 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: "Take Three" Etiquette
Posted By: Admin
Subject: "Take Three" Etiquette
Date Posted: 03 Jun 2004 at 6:34am
I received the following email regarding taking three slugs instead of the normal two. I tend to agree but would like the slugging community to comment.

"I have been slugging for four years and a new trend is starting to develop that needs to be nipped in the bud. Many slugs are asking drivers to "take three". This is selfish on the slug's part and can put the system out of balance. The driver normally doesn't want to be seen as a jerk, so he agrees to take extra slugs. This leaves fewer slugs for later drivers, who then have to wait longer to get their slugs. The ONLY time it would be appropriate to ask a driver to "take three" is when things are way out of balance. If there are 50 slugs in line, it's after 5:30 PM, and there is one car, go ahead and ask. Otherwise, let the system work!"

Replies:
Posted By: DC2RV
Date Posted: 03 Jun 2004 at 7:23am
It's all a matter of perspective. If I've been standing there for a long time, if the weather's bad, or if the line is long, (and if I'm the 3rd person), I'll ask if the driver will take 3. If he/she says no, c'est la vie.

This writer seems to be absolutely certain of a number of assumptions:

1. There will be later drivers for all of the slugs.
2. That the # of drivers and slugs remains constant.
3. And given #s 1 & 2, that it's imperative for drivers to find riders, but not necessarily vice versa.